Category Archives: About


The Belknap County Conservation District (BCCD) was established on February 14, 1946 by NH RSA to serve as a non-regulartory implementer of on-the-ground conservation measures and a resource for the leveraging of federal, state, and local funding to assist land managers in maintaining the Belknap County’s land, water and related natural resource.

The District, in close coordination with the USDA National Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and private sector professions, undertakes projects and holds low-cost natural resource based training programs for professionals, schools, and interested citizens.

Belknap County invests in BCCD through support of its very small staff while funding for BCCD projects, programs, and informational outreach comes primarily from grants, donations, and BCCD fundraising activities such as our Tree Sale.


Office Staff

District Supervisors

  • Donna Hepp | Chairman – Belmont
  • John M. Hodsdson | Supervisor – Meredith
  • Ken Kettenring | Supervisor – New Hampton
  • Earle Chase | Supervisor  – Barnstead
  • Dean Anson, Supervisor – Laconia

Associate Supervisor

  • Aaron Lichtenberg, Associate Supervisor – Alton

Natural Resource Conservation Service Technical Assistance

  • Nel Liljedahl | NRCS District Conservationist – serving Belknap and Carroll Counties (Conway, 447-2771 ext. 102)
  • Karen Dudley | NRCS Soil Scientist (Concord, 223-6026)
  • Bill Hoey | NRCS Soil Conservationist (Concord, 223-6022)